Uncategorized

Where to go when in Negros Occidental

Bacolod City!

I guess men and women in their early 20s and 30s who like to travel and explore the country have heard much about this city. It is notable for its MassKara Festival held during the third week of October and is known for being a relatively friendly city, as it bears the nickname “The City of Smiles”.

Honestly, Bacolod City and even Negros Occidental are not part of my travel list this year. But, I guess a rare opportunity had led me to this place which made me make a blog about this province. Yes! I’ve been to a couple of top tourist destinations in the country and had traveled to Singapore and Malaysia which I did have a very spectacular experience. I always wanted to make a blog about those places but time constraints and busy schedule didn’t make it possible. Yet my fingers lead me now to do some typing and let the world know about this place. It is maybe because I’ve met amazing people with utmost generosity and kindness. I’ve met new friends (Madam Hannah, Charyl, and Kenrose) whom I could exchange with some academic matters and travel trips. I was just so lucky to know them. I owe most of my photos to them.

So much for that, let’s go to directly to the point.

When in Bacolod City, you must not forget to visit the famous “Taj Mahal of the Philippines”- The Ruins. It is the remains of the ancestral home mansion of the family of Don Mariano Ledesma Lacson and Maria Braga Lacson. It is situated in TalisayNegros Occidental, Philippines. The mansion was built in early 1900s and inspired by Italian architecture. It is the ancestral home mansion of the family of wealthy sugar baron Don Mariano Ledesma Lacson who built it in early 1900s, in memory of his Portuguese wife Maria Braga Lacson, who had died during the birth of her eleventh child.  It is open to daily visitors from 8am to 8pm for a small entrance fee of PHP100 adults, PHP 50 students, and PHP20 children.

1

(photo credits to Madam Cano)

It is said that this mansion was burned down by the guerillas during the Second World War to prevent its use as a military office by the invading Japanese forces. But the elegance and the beauty of the building seemed to have not been destroyed. I’ve seen in the Instagram that there is the best spot in the place in which you could have your own reflection having the mansion as the background. They’ve said that the shot is best taken at sunset. So when I arrived at the place, I kept on looking around to find a lake or any body of water. To my surprise, I couldn’t find one. Good that a friend of mine told me the secret place and took this. I don’t wanna be a spoiler so you better find out how I had this photo. It is a little bit blurry but so satisfied to have a pose.

2

(photo credits to Madam Fe)

Were you dreaming to travel to Luzon, and visit one of the country’s top tourist destinations- Baguio City, but find the place too expensive to travel when you are from Mindanao and Visayas? Well, Negros Occidental has their own little Baguio. Come and explore Don Salvador Benedicto! This place is known as the Summer Capital of Negros Occidental, owing to its cool climate, green fields, and mountain ranges.  It is a very popular tourist site amongst locals and foreigners seeking a moment of serenity away from the hustle-bustle of huge cities. Thanks to a dear friend and classmate of mine who recommended the place (Madam Ivy). It was indeed picturesque and spectacular! It took us more than an hour to reach the municipality from Bacolod City but you will not notice the long hours of travel because you will be astounded by the green fields, clean and wide road. It seemed like you are going to Baguio City when the vehicle will go up and had a curvy ride. Sugarcane is one of the products Negros is known for with different delicacies produced from but you will be mesmerized seeing a lot of pine trees growing beautifully at both sides of the road. Thus, I can’t help myself but to stop the vehicle and take a pose. And OMG! The place is like Camp John Hay! Here’s why.

DSC_0769

DSC_0791

DSC_0833

(photos credit to Madam Fe)

Want an escape from a busy and polluted city life? Are you a nature lover or environment-friendly traveler? Just beneath the lion statue is a viewing deck where you can see the beautiful rice terraces and the relaxing flow of water into a small river. Enjoy the view, and feel the cool breeze of the air. The place is just so refreshing! Perfect for prenup and soul-searching. While enjoying the view, you may have some delicious snacks like chichacorn, banana chips, fish cracker and peanuts that are being sold along the highway and most of which are just near this statue.

DSC_0870.JPG

DSC_0874

DSC_0884

(photos credit to Madam Fe)

A perfect way to exit Don Salvador Benedicto is a stopover at the famous D’Horizon. I’m pretty sure my friend Mark will not leave DSB without passing by and take a selfie. This is a good place to hang out with friends while having a nice viewing on the mystical Mt. Kanlaon and the Rocky Pandanon River. It is a peaceful and pleasant place to unwind which would seem to be restaurant along the highway. Don’t forget to get a bite with their delicious rice cakes (binubod). But, oppps! Take extra precautions and safety measures in your view deck. You might be picked up at the bottom!DSC_0913

DSC_0965

DSC_0918

DSC_0927

(photos credit to Madam Fe)

Wow!just wow! I did have a great time. I felt like I was renewed but the trip is not yet over! I don’t settle for less. Whenever I’m in a new place, I would visit a resort. And thanks to Madam Kenrose for accompanying us to one of the best all year round getaway destination- Campuestohan Highland Resort!Whew!So far, the best resort ever! It’s perfect for summer vacation, family bonding and conquering your fears of heights. The resort has a lot to offer. It has 3 totally insane rides that you should try on- sky bicycle, hamster wheel, and zip line or bungee trampoline. These rides that will strategically lessen your fears.

DSC_1405

(photo credits to Madam Cheryl)

DSC_1332

(photo credits to Madam Kenrose)

And not only that, summer is real as you enjoy their wave pool! They also have another pool for those who settle for swimming and diving, plus roaring dinosaurs at ram’s dino park, structures of the casts of Kung Fu Panda, bonita huts, and a lot more!

DSC_1169

DSC_1226

DSC_1272

DSC_1283

DSC_1287

(photos credit to Madam Kenrose)

DSC_0045

(photo credits to Madam Fe)

Amazing isn’t it?

Well, you might think, my trip is over. Hey, there’s a lot more!

Do you appreciate arts? Then mural paintings found near the famous Chicken House in Bacolod City is perfect for you. Artistic paintings are on the walls of the buildings. Big thanks to the attendant of Block 17 Art Space for allowing us to take pictures although the shop is closed already. Take a look at these pics.DSC_0062

DSC_0071

DSC_0138

DSC_0153

DSC_0183

(photos credit to Madam Hannah)

There are a lot more of beautiful spots that I need to see and experience in Bacolod and in the nearby municipalities and cities in Negros Occidental.

This is really a one of a kind experience. I will surely come back here together with my family and my friends Mark and Quindhe as well as my beshy Jun, Jacob, April and JC Fleur.

Thank you so much to those who had made this journey a fruitful and memorable one. Thnx Madam Riz.

Till my next travel friends!

-Samlia Nicole

 

1 thought on “Where to go when in Negros Occidental”

Leave a comment